Exhibition Information

Artist: Amy Duran
Exhibition:
Media: Ceramics
Gallery: CSULB School of Art
Instagram: polkadot.pony

About the Artist

Amy Duran is a Ceramics major at California State University, Long Beach. She is an undergraduate student. She graduates this May 2017 with a BFA in Ceramics. She is from Buena Park in Orange County. Before going to Long Beach, she went to a community college in Cypress. Other than ceramics, she has interests  in baking and designing cakes. Her ideas explore a coming of age story.

Formal Analysis

There are ceramic structures and books telling a story. Attached, there are levers you can pull to make the structures move. There are also curtains that you can move, that go along with the story that is being told. There are beautiful and realistic but cartoon-like qualities and shapes. The textures don’t seem super smooth, they seem a little jagged. There is a use of darker colors in her art pieces, but that may be because it looks like it takes place during the night time.

Content Analysis

As stated earlier, she is trying to explain a coming of age story. She uses herself in the story and it is a story of becoming a woman while holding onto past memories. These were her personal struggles. She felt as though she was forgetting who she was as a child. In the story she told, there are relationships with animals and toys. She was inspired about her real toys and pets she had as a child. She wants to show a different side to femininity by showing how powerful women can be. She delivers a really strong message in the story.

Synthesis / My Experience

This was an eye-opener for me. I realized through this exhibit that we are getting older every second, and I am getting further and further away from my past and my childhood with all these responsibilities that I have to deal with. I was able to feel a little nostalgic and took a walk through memory lane, but it was a little heart breaking to realize that I couldn’t remember some things. I could remember some faces, or how I felt about a certain situation. For example, I can remember my brothers and I sitting around the kitchen table laughing when we were young. I don’t remember what they looked like or what we were laughing about, but it’s  fond memory of mine because I love my brothers and life was easier and happier back then. It just sucks that that’s all I remember about the situation.

Leave a Reply

