Artist: Yujia Gu
Exhibition: Tracing Gun Violence in the USA
Media: graphic design
Gallery: CSULB School of Art

About the Artist

Yujia Gu is a graduate student at California State University Long Beach working on her masters for BFA in graphic design. Yujia is from china and she decided to come to the US, but before coming, was warned by her mother about the gun violence that takes place in the US. She took the risk and came to the US anyway and found herself doing deep research in gun violence, which inspired the exhibit. She has been living in the United States for 3 years now.

 

Formal Analysis

I believe she mentioned that she used a sticker material to put onto the walls. I would describe the line to be straight. I observed that she used dark colors. I noticed that she tried to appeal to more than just sight because there was a piece on the wall that you could listen to. It showed statistics of gun violence world wide. There were pictures on the wall for a children who have fallen victim to gun violence.

Content Analysis

Well, as mentioned earlier, her exhibit was inspired by her mother’s worries about moving to the states because all of the gun violence that has happened. She wants to spread word about the importance of gun violence and how frequent it has been coming up. She wants to inform of the misuse of guns as well as how necessary it is control gun usage. She uses the exhibit to promote her ideas and express how she feels about the issue.

Synthesis / My Experience

Well this was a cool exhibit. I chose this specific exhibit because I was put into a situation where guns were held up to everyone’s face. Although, no guns were fired and it was just a threat, it was really traumatizing a crazy. Gun violence is everywhere. It was really relatable. I’m able to understand the fears of gun violence and because of my experience I think that I am a lot of cautious about getting into situations and I have more fears and see myself discluding myself from a lot of situations that are potentially dangerous.

Leave a Reply

